Looking ahead to 2013

What does the future hold? Only God knows the details and I’m trying to trust Him with them. I can predict a few things that lie in my future to a small degree. Here are a few things that I’m looking forward to:

  • Reinventing my business … again. There will be new clients and new projects. And a continuing faith in God to provide the right clients and the right projects at just the right times. It looks like 2013 may not be nearly as busy as 2012, so I will be adjusting to a new (or a previous) state of doing the majority of client work myself rather than subcontracting.
  • Vacation and rest: I’ve not been good about taking vacations since starting my business nearly 14 years ago. I’ve skimped, many years foregoing any sort of break. This year will be different. I will be traveling to Belize. I also anticipate a trip to Lake Tahoe for a wedding and trips to South Dakota for visiting family, hunting and perhaps cattle work. I wonder if this will be a year to recharge and refocus myself personally and professionally?
  • Serving the community through the Elko New Market Chamber of Commerce. I was elected to a three-year term on the board and appointed to the vice president position for this year. I don’t know what all this will entail, however, I know that it will result in more and deeper relationships with those in the community and local government. And that will be life-giving.
  • Personal relationships: I’ve previously mentioned my tendency to push people away and put up walls. I will probably always need to work on this shortcoming and this year will be no different. I will intentionally lean in to those relationships that challenge me. I will try to engage in healthy, constructive conversations that build up relationships rather than tear them down. I will do my best to extend grace and mercy to others, particularly when my natural response would be critical and condemning.

I am happy and optimistic for the future. I am looking forward to new opportunities, challenges and changes. I know the year will bring highs and lows, sadness and joy. Regardless, I will approach every day and everything with a foundational faith in God as my provider, protector and loving Father, and trust Him to bring me peace through it all.

2 thoughts on “Looking ahead to 2013

Leave a comment